Living among Right-Wings

I received some criticism after revealing I watched PK. Here are a few reactions, condensed for you:

Anger: Really? How could you?

Betrayal (sense of): Somebody made fun of our religion, our customs, and you paid money to watch it, and laughed along with it.

Comparison: Would Christians and Muslims accept this kind of abomination?

Disgust: They actually had a scene with a man painted in blue running about dressed as Shiva. How dare they?

Exasperation: We let everyone live in our country, and now there is no place for us.

Hostility: If movies like PK are going to be made, then we do not have enough Ghar Wapsi events happening.

Indignation: We Hindus do not want to fight back when someone makes fun of us. How much longer are we going to take this lying down?

Incredulity: We allowed a Muslim to get away with speaking dialogues about our religion.

I do not have much to say to them. But when asked “What are you doing to protect and preserve Hinduism?”; I like to tell them, “I am leaving it alone”.

2 thoughts on “Living among Right-Wings

  1. In some ways I thought the movie was just a pessimistic take on cultural practices, rather than picking on any particular religion. It’s quite so often that culture and religion are seen as the same. I didn’t really feel there was anything malicious about the content – more like questions a child would ask their parents. As for why the ‘target’ was Hinduism, maybe because that’s the religion the filmmaker was familiar with and felt more comfortable speaking about? Then again as an atheist I possibly shouldn’t be passing judgements. But I have to say I was quite surprised that such a movie is even allowed to exist (note: I haven’t seen OMG, which I’ve been told has tackled these issues before). Sometimes the very existence of freedom of speech in India seems like an enigma, no matter how much I support it.

    Like

    1. Yes, PK was not malicious I thought. And especially because those questions were posed by someone who we are told is an outsider.. I quite enjoyed the first half – the stretches where he narrates his (mis)adventures on Earth, after which it felt predictable. OMG is more verbose I think (from what I remember), more so because the Paresh Rawal character is a lawyer and wants to sue God. But to balance this, the movie had Akshay Kumar as Krishna, performing divine acts, and finally the non believer turns believer. Maybe this is why the people feeling threatened by PK felt comfortable watching OMG, though it raises some similar questions.

      Like

Leave a Reply

