A whole lot of love

I’d been meaning to write about Premam, but I wasn’t entirely sure what I wanted to write. So much has been said about the movie already, and it is still running in Chennai’s theaters (over a month and a half since its release). Clearly, everyone loves Premam! Oh, I enjoyed it too. It is hard not to be won over by such a charming movie, a movie which seems to love love, you can’t help but love it a little yourself.

I did have some nagging thoughts while watching it though. Yet again, we are shown love at first sight (since this concept has proved itself over time and is here to stay, I think I shall refrain from commenting, but even as I say this, I am not able to let it be, it really irks me). Yet again, a boy in school follows a girl everywhere she goes (and calls it love). But how much can I complain? She seems to like it (kind of) and even thinks of him as a friend whom she can ask for help (with her actual relationship). Maybe when you see someone desperately waiting for your attention every single day, you form some sort of a bond with them, I wouldn’t know. Moving on to when George is in college, I found it a little odd that a lecturer and her student would fall in love. But not too odd really, why was I judging? I know similar stories, that happened to people I know. What about the little girl, becoming his love interest after all those years? Is it surprising that we run into the same people over and over in our lives? It is an event which occurs often enough (even if I wish it didn’t).

Then I felt that the characters in Premam are the kind of people you know, or you once knew. They seem fairly normal, and the women all look like they belong – is this something to be expected in a Malayalam movie? (Watching too many Tamil movies can make even this seem like a novelty.) They open up a little of themselves, in turn prompting us to go into flashback mode wearing rose-tinted sunglasses. Maybe that is the success of the movie?

6 thoughts on “A whole lot of love

  1. When it is Malayalam movies, I mostly tend to see the ones that have been praised to the hilt. And all the ones I have seen till date have pretty believable women in them. Bangalore days, Dhrishyam, Ustaad Hotel, Thattathin Marayathu, Om Shanti Oshanna – all have women; not just the heroine, who are as much natural as they can be. In Ustaad Hotel, I love the scene where Dulquer Salmaan asks his sister to intervene on his behalf to their father. And the sister tells him, “when has he listened to us?”. That single line, which re-emphasizes that being male is more important in their family, is beautiful. I am saying re-emphasizes because this is established pretty early in the movie and it doesn’t aim to correct this flaw, it just is. The hero too, knows and ignores this, even though to him personally his sisters’ opinions and love matters. It was such a believable layer. I am yet to see Premam, I am putting it off a little, mainly because the last movie which I saw was ‘Thattathin Marayathu’ which didn’t impress me as much as I expected it to.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thattathin Marayuthu felt more like a rom-com..? As in, I watched the entire movie knowing the ending would be feel-good (and it was), and this removes it a little bit from reality?
      Thanks for your comment! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

