Near enough

Whenever I see something interesting

Or have a question

When I want to talk about someone

Or share an idea

A discovery I made, however small

I converse with you (in my mind)

I imagine your laugh, a turn of phrase

And you are not far away anymore.

When I close my eyes

I picture your smile

The way you used to look at me

With pride and affection, amusement maybe?

There is a lurch in my stomach I cannot explain

Tears threaten to form in my eyes, an obstruction in my throat

I almost forgot – you are not here.

Leaping across time and space

I retrieve a memory from our shared past

Or build our future with the visions in my head

You are right next to me, and I won’t believe anyone who says otherwise.

Leave a Reply

