A quick recap

I’ll say it, I was tempted to begin this post in the manner of letters we once wrote to our teachers in middle school, providing explanations for having taken the day off.

As I was suffering from a serious dearth of ideas, kindly bear with me until I find something meaningful to write about…

It occurred to me that my constant companion for watching and analyzing movies, A, hasn’t been featured here in a long while. This isn’t to say we aren’t watching movies or TV shows with more sincerity than strictly necessary – one might even argue at this point that any dedication was unnecessary. But we continue to do what we do, even if we are forever playing catch-up with the onslaught of releases every weekend.

The last movie that we caught was Aandavan Kattalai, which was easily the most satisfying Tamil movie experience in a long time. It is a funny, thoughtful movie that will reward you on repeat viewings. It flows so effortlessly that you realize with a sense of wonderment how much difference an actor can make to the proceedings. You will find below an interview of Vinothini, who played the role of a junior lawyer in the movie (she was fantastic). I didn’t recall her from any of her previous movies, in spite of having watched them all. In my defense though, I have for long suspected I may be suffering from a mild case of prosopagnosia, because I can’t seem to recognize anyone out of context, and certainly not if I have met them just once.

This interview made me want to thank her and give her a high five.

On the television front, we have for you a show that goes by the title This Is Us. This show invites us into the lives of Kevin, Kate and Randall, who were all born on the same day. It goes back and forth in time, revealing to us bits of their childhood and how they came to be these people we now know. Kevin is an actor trying to elevate himself from being the resident hunk in a vapid comedy, Kate has been battling body image issues all her life, and Randall is a black man who grew up with a white family. The show is unabashedly sentimental, it doesn’t stop until you progress from sniffling to crying-that-cannot-be-disguised-as-dust-in-the-eye. But it does all of this with so much warmth, it is impossible to not want to follow the story of these individuals. After a period of watching shows that aren’t exactly sunny in their disposition, it makes for a nice change to watch something that is best described by the word ‘heart-warming’.

In other news, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie has set forth a feminist manifesto. It takes the form of a letter to her friend, explaining how to raise a feminist child. (Just when I thought I didn’t need  more reasons to love her.) She writes of the personal, the intimate, the private and the public, and she does it all with so much elegance. You can read it here.

So long then.

This Is Us is available on Hotstar.

One thought on “A quick recap

  1. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your article seem to be running off the screen in Firefox.

    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I thought I’d post
    to let you know. The design and style look great though! Hope you get the issue resolved soon. Kudos

    Like

Leave a Reply

