The year we’re leaving behind

I am one of those annoying people who say things like Time is an arbitrary concept/ New Year is just another day/ I don’t care for resolutions – but as I say this, I feel like it depends on my mood. It is surely a good time for retrospection, even if I have never had any plans to ring in the New Year – I am not sure what that means, I tend to imagine hula hoops.

So on the first day of 2016, I watched Maalai Nerathu Mayakkam, and I don’t know what to say, except that it was an interesting experiment. Let it also be recorded here that my sister may or may not have forgiven me for taking her along.

In other news, we were visited by a cyclone this year. Our quiet city by the sea seems to be turning into a magnet for disasters. I hope you are not thinking trees are the reason for all the damage the city bore. Imagine living in this dustbowl without a tree in sight, we might all just evaporate. If only roots could hold on to concrete.

This was the year I discovered many wonderful authors, movies and television shows. I am going to take a moment to talk about the last book I read this year – The Mothers by Brit Bennett, which follows the lives of two young black women as they find their place in the world. It is a coming-of-age story that breaks your heart, about two girls as they navigate loss, grief, pain and death. Nadia and Aubrey, one beautiful and brilliant, the other kind and patient, become unlikely friends one summer, in a small town anchored by the church and set free by the ocean. We follow their lives, as they realize they can never truly leave behind the past. It is the kind of book I can’t get enough of, contemporary fiction that opens to me lives I can only imagine poorly. It also brings to our attention a glorious friendship that is in fact sisterhood, one that I have been lucky to experience several times over. When reading the novel, we are often interrupted by a chorus of sorts, The Mothers that the title refers to, a group of old women who observe everything and judge everyone – maybe the society one can either feel comforted or repulsed by. There are many different women we meet within the pages of this book, all perfect and flawed.

It has been a year of highs and lows, and I request you to permit me to reach for that tired sinusoidal wave analogy. It appears as though high school mathematics has a way of imprinting itself on your brain. I would like to think I have emerged just a little bit wiser and significantly snarkier.

Happy New Year then! Let us eat some boozy cake and make a few calls.

2 thoughts on “The year we’re leaving behind

Leave a Reply

